Page 1 of 2 1 2
#221914 10/28/09 08:03 AM
T
TOC Offline OP
Nobel Peace Prize Winner
OP Offline
Nobel Peace Prize Winner
T
There has been some discussion in the fanfic forum about whether or not certain stories are actually dangerous to some readers' mental well-being, and, if they are, whether these stories should be forced to carry a MAJOR BUMMER warning, so that sensitive FoLCs can avoid them.

I'm not trying to bring up the particular story that sparked the most recent debate. (Hey, if I was, I wouldn't discuss it in the Off Topic forum.)

But the question I want to bring up is a broader one. Do some stories - and I don't mean primarily fanfic stories - actually make you feel literally sick? Do they make you feel so bad that you wish you hadn't read them?

When I studied English at the university of Lund here in Sweden in the late seventies, one of the books we were required to read was Brighton Rock by Graham Greene. I apologize for showing a picture of the movie adaption rather than the cover of the book:

[Linked Image]

The kid you can see here is the main character of the book, and his name is Pinky, or so I think. (Hey, it's been such a long time since I read it.) Pinky is seventeen years old (I think), a scrawny kid, and it was a big deal to him that he was a Catholic. Back then, I was trying quite hard to be religious, and it was important to me to try to cling to the belief that religious people were good people. And to me Catholic people were religious people, and since they were religious people, they had to be at least moderately good.

You can see in the picture that Pinky's cheek is slashed. Well, you see, Pinky the pimply Catholic kid is a gang leader, and he and his gang regularly attack other people and slash them with razor blades. And sometimes other gangs slash them back.