Next Thread
Print Thread
#196661 05/09/03 03:16 PM
Y
Top Banana
OP Offline
Top Banana
Y
I am not sure how many people know this, but I am a student at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio. For those of you that were worried about me (although I am pretty sure I talked to everyone on IRC today - thanks to Anna and Annie telling me that people were talking about it), i just wanted to let everyone know that I am ok and didn't even go to campus today. I am a bit shook up, though. Even though my department and office are on the exact opposite side of the campus, I know a lot of people that were potentially involved.

Today at approximately 4pm, the Peter B. Lewis Building (the business school) was invaded by a gunman. So far, they have confirmed that one person has died. The gun man is still in the building, but hopefully everything will be resolved soon. Local News - ABC Channel 5

Please pray for the hostages that are still inside the building! I still haven't heard from some of my friends.

- Alicia mecry

Laura "The Yellow Dart" U. (Alicia U. on the archive)

"A hero is an ordinary individual who finds the strength to persevere and endure in spite of overwhelming obstacles." -- Christopher Reeve
Pulitzer
Pulitzer
just checked for an update... after 7 hours, they finally got him. he's in custody now, and no one else was killed or injured (there had been one death and two injuries when alica posted, and that's where the count still remains).

i'm glad you're okay alicia, though i can definitely understand being shaken. here's hoping for the recovery of the two who were injured. it says they're in "stable condition," so hopefully they're not too badly injured.

Paul

When in doubt, think about penguins. It probably won't help, but at least it'll be fun.
Columnist
Columnist
mecry

Do, or do not. There is no try.
- Yoda
Pulitzer
Pulitzer
Oh wow. I just heard about that this evening. I'm so glad you're okay! I'll say a prayer before I hit the sack. Take care.