Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 11 of 11 1 2 9 10 11
Hack from Nowheresville
Hack from Nowheresville
As the person who expressed opinions on UK English on IRC... goofy

What else could I possibly have meant?
What else could I have possibly meant?
Both of those are *possible* in UK English. The first sentence strongly emphasises the "possibly"; the second almost completely de-emphasises it. As a writer, my feeling is that in the second sentence, the "possibly" should just be dropped, since it's not pulling its weight. For that reason, the second sentence sounds odd to me, and I'd only use the first.

I certainly feel that the first sentence is the one that trips more easily off the tongue. smile

Mere smile

A diabolically, fiendishly clever mind. Possibly someone evil enough to take over the world. CC Aiken, Can You Guess the Writer? challenge
Pulitzer
Pulitzer
I love my electic kettle for tea water!
Electric kettles: you have to remember that the US has 110 volt mains, rather than 220/240 volt. Half the voltage, a quarter of the power - it'll take four times as long to boil your kettle. (Unless you double the current, which causes its own problems.)
True. But with an automatic off, the water still boils and waits for you to come back. It's only a few minutes more. So 110 isn't that much longer than 220. A benefit of 110 volts is that we don't have circuit breakers on every line as a safety measure. We have circuit breakers for sections of the house.
As to pot noodles, they're sold here in the US as "Cup of Noodles" (dessicated noodles with seasonings in a little packet) or Top Ramen, which comes instant (boiled water poured into styrofoam cup) or boil-on the stove. They were lifesavers in the office when you could have a hot meal with your tea water pot. The main objection as I understood it was that they are high in salt content and thus not good for you.