Okay. I was trying to wait for Sue to give me the green light before I posted... but I haven't heard from her... and I implemented the information she gave me (more notes on this at the bottom of the part).

So I'm going to go ahead and post. If anyone wants to correct me, feel free... and if Sue gives me further info, I may come back and make adjustments. <g> I did make the disclaimer at the beginning of this story, though, that I am not a doctor and have not ever played one on TV <snort> So keep that in mind. <g>

And here we go!
Table of Contents

From Part 17:

“Yeah, Jimmy and I would be happy to stay with him, wouldn’t we?” he asked, looking over at his friend. Jimmy nodded his willing agreement and Jack continued, “I leave the day after tomorrow and wanted to say goodbye anyway.”

“Yeah, and Perry’s letting me take a couple of days to help Jack get moved in,” Jimmy chimed in.

“Oh, so you’re going with Jack to New York?” she asked Jimmy.

They both nodded and Jack walked through the open door, brushing past Lois. He stopped and turned back to look at Jimmy. “Why don’t you go ahead and go back to the office with Lois? Perry won’t like it if we’re both gone, and I’m the one who’s officially off the payroll. Both of us don’t need to sit with Clark. You go on.”

“Are you sure?” Jimmy asked, looking a little lost all of the sudden.

“Yeah,” Jack nodded. “I’ll stay here with Clark. We’ve got some catching up to do.”

Lois noticed the peculiar look he had in his eyes. He definitely knew *something*. “Thanks, Jack,” she said appreciatively. She turned back to Jimmy and smiled. “Come on, Jimmy, let’s see if we can get a front page headliner done today.”

She glanced back at Jack before taking Jimmy by the arm and leading him off.

What she wouldn’t give to be a fly on the wall right now.

PART EIGHTEEN