Lois II

Lois watched as Clark double-checked the documents he and she were to sign. Zara and Ching had managed to transfer the electronic copies of the documents from the transport to Clark’s office computer. How many people on Earth have Kryptonese as a printer font? How many people need to actually print anything using it, much less legal documents?

“You don’t trust us?” Zara asked.

Clark chuckled, not stopping his reading to look up. “I trust you just fine, milady. But I am a journalist by trade. ‘Trust but verify’.” Finally satisfied, he handed both the English and Kryptonian adoption documents to Lois for her to sign.

Lois scanned the English version. The date on the document set it at eleven years before – the day Zara and Ching took Clark away from her. She gave Zara a questioning look.

“For an adoption to take place, we both need to be present. That was one of the few times we were together in front of witnesses,” Zara explained. “I distinctly recall calling you my sister in front of the people who were attending Superman’s goodbye conference.”

“Lois Sen-Ra?” Lois wondered aloud.

“Well, Lois isn’t exactly a Kryptonian name, but I have a feeling it’s going to be. We already have a number of ‘Clark’s and even ‘Jerome’s,” Ching said with a smile. He turned to Clark, expression more solemn. “I know that year with us was extraordinarily hard on you, but you have no idea how many people you affected, how much your presence was felt, even after your return to Earth. And if you should ever consider just visiting, please know that you, and Lois, would be welcomed with open arms.”

“Thanks, Ching,” Clark said. “It’s nice to know I did some good.”

Lois signed both copies of the adoption papers and handed them to Zara. Zara signed them with a flourish.

“Welcome to the House of Ra, sister,” Zara said formally then pulled Lois into a hug. “I always wanted a sister.”