I told you I'd be back grumble ) and I've been posting here for several years, and my last post of *this* story was almost exactly two years ago clap

Inheritance pt. 6

For ultrafan (aka Linda)

Herb made another adjustment, shifting them back to the Kent farm.

“Why’re we back here?” Clarissa asked.

“In as I have brought you back to understand your past, I thought it important for you to see a moment when your father needed more information into his, seeing as how at this point in time he had virtually none. That frightfully paranoid man who demanded that Superman be delivered to him got Clark curious about his fragmented origins. So he decided to ask the only two people who could tell him anything.” Herb nodded towards the kitchen table, where Clark was having supper with his parents.

“I wanna hear everything you know about how you found me. Everything.”

Jonathan took a deep breath to answer the questions he’d always known would come.

“May 17th 1966,” he began. “We were driving past Simpson’s quarry just due west of the Elbow river.”

“And we saw this thing in the sky,” Martha chimed in. “At first we thought it was one of those ICBM’s.”

“That thing came streakin’ across the sky in front of us,” he continued. “It was hard to ignore,” he chuckled.”

“And we found you and took you home,” Martha finished, her voice becoming nostalgic. “Your eyes were so big, and so wide, and that little diaper-thing they had you in made you look so CUTE!!” she gushed.

“Martha!” Jonathan amusedly chided his wife, then his voice sobered. “A few days later some men showed up around town, asking questions.”

Clark’s eyes widened in alarm. “What kind of men?”

“They said they were from the Space Program, and they thought some debris had come down from some Russion satellite, and wanted to know if we’d seen anything,” Martha explained.

“What did you tell them?” Clark asked, his heart beating a little faster.

“Not a thing,” Jonathan replied flatly.