Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#228963 12/09/05 09:41 PM
HatMan Offline OP
Pulitzer
OP Offline
Pulitzer
I'm trying to put together a webpage. Unfortunately, I have next to zero experience at such things. I don't really know HTML and, in general, I'm a clumsy programmer at best.

I have created a few basic web pages in the past, but I've done so using WYSIWYG editing programs like Netscape Composer and Trellian Webpage.

Most of what I want to do can still be done that way, but I'd like to snaz it up a bit this time.

One thing I'm looking to do is to create borders along the sides of the page. I want a main background image, and then a different image running along the left (or right) side of the page. I think I just need to create an invisible vertical devider and set the border image as the background for that side of the devider, but I'm not sure how to go about doing that. Especially not without defining a height for the border (I want it to run the length of the page, whatever that happens to be).

I'm also looking for a way to allow users to select font options from a pull-down menu (preferably without cookies). I found a program which claims to do just that, but have yet to test it. Any thoughts on that would be helpful, too.

I think that's it for now. I may be back as I get further into the design. Any help/advice/suggestions you may have on this stuff would be very much appreciate, though.

Paul

When in doubt, think about penguins. It probably won't help, but at least it'll be fun.
#228964 12/10/05 04:04 AM
Merriwether
Merriwether
The best way to do the running border is to do a table tag. Have the width be 100%, and you can set the border to whatever you want it to be. It's what the major websites do for their menus. You can then put a background color in that cell.

Code
<table border=0 width="100%">
<tr>
<td width="130" valign="top">
menu/border
</td>
<td valign="top">
main body
</td></tr></table>
</td>