Lois & Clark Fanfic Message Boards
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#206206 02/05/06 06:05 AM
Beat Reporter
OP Offline
Beat Reporter
Came across this link in one of my online groups and wondered what FoLCs would think of it.

I personally think they should be *very very* careful experimenting with this sort of thing.

Don't point. You make holes in the air and the faeries escape.
#206207 02/05/06 06:49 AM
K
Boards Chief Administrator
Pulitzer
Boards Chief Administrator
Pulitzer
K
eek I'm not even sure how to respond to that. It's wrong in so many ways, regardless of the medical advances it could make. I mean... they want to give a mouse a human brain, and once they know it has human cognitive ability, *then* they want to test on it? That's... Wouldn't the creature be essentially human (not counting physical appearance) but without the physical capability to produce speech? If that's the case (and I'm no scientist), it's beyond cruel. *shakes head* I agree, Doran, there's a very precarious line they need to be careful about crossing.

Sara

Kerth nominations are opening on March 3!
🏆2024 Kerth Award Posts 🏆.

Join us on the #loisclark Discord server! We talk about fanfic, the show, life, and more!

You can also find me on Tumblr and AO3.

#206208 02/05/06 07:30 AM
Kerth
Kerth
ICK! I had to read that this was from National Geographic several times, because I was sure it must have been from the National Whisper. confused This was fairly disturbing, particularly the line about a human being born to mice parents. I was envisioning the sci-fi nightmare that could come from a society like this. Usually, I say "anything goes" (Ted Kennedy is more conservative than I am!), but this was even too far for me. I certainly support medical research, but there need to be ethical guidelines in place before something like this goes too far.