Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#206116 01/22/06 06:28 AM
A
Pulitzer
OP Offline
Pulitzer
A
I was wondering if anyone could point me to which are the most commonly accepted scientific theories on the appearance of human on Earth. I've heard Darwin's one has been discarded...

Thank you,
AnnaBtG.

What we've got here is failure to communicate...
#206117 01/22/06 07:02 AM
T
TOC Offline
Nobel Peace Prize Winner
Nobel Peace Prize Winner
T
Well, Anna, I'm not an expert here, but I'm somewhat interested, and I'll try to explain what I think I know. First, the overwhelming majority of the scientific community believes in the theory of evolution, which was first described by Charles Darwin in 1859, in his book "The Origin of the Species". Darwin's main problem was that, while he insisted that the species slowly changed over time, he couldn't explain how this change came about. It was Gregor Mendel who, later in the 19th century, demonstrated that mutations can take place. Most of those mutations are harmful and will lessen an individual's chances of surviving and reproducing, but a few mutations are very advantageous indeed. We actually see such mutations and changes taking place in viruses, bacteria, insects and rodents all the time. For example, just a few months ago I read that rats here in Sweden are becoming immune to the poison that has been used to kill them. Consider. We have fought rats with the same poison for decades. Now imagine that one rat is born with a mutation that makes it immune to this poison. Suppose it survives and reproduces, and suppose it passes on its immunity to rat poison to its offspring. While those rats which are vulnerable to rat posion will die of it, the new species of rat is insensitive, and will thrive. This way, nature, through evolution, has come up with a new species of rat. In a similar way, nature comes up with bacteria that are resistant to penicillin, and with new strains of bacteria and viruses which cause new illnesses like AIDS and