Next Thread
Print Thread
#201125 10/12/04 03:24 PM
sandrad Offline OP
Hack from Nowheresville
OP Offline
Hack from Nowheresville
wave Hi all!

Since I'm a newbie LCfic reader, I was just wondering what FDK and WHAM stands for.

Thanks!
Mirage

Clark: You're really high maintenance, aren't you?

Lois: Yes, but I'm worth it!
#201126 10/12/04 03:29 PM
Pulitzer
Pulitzer
Hi Mirage smile

FDK is a classic FoLC fanfic abbreviation, coined by Hazel in one of her fics, The Ultimate Drug . Do read it - it's short and very funny. (Incidentally, FDK actually stands for 'feedback' wink ).

A WHAM is something painful or horrible happening to our favourite characters. I've seen a couple of different interpretations of the acronym: it's either Wrenching, Hurtful, Agonising Moment, or Wistful, Hurting, Agonising Moment (something along those lines, anyway!)

Hope this helps.

Wendy smile

Just a fly-by! *waves*
#201127 10/12/04 03:35 PM
Columnist
Columnist
Hi wave

FDK is feedback. There was a fic written by the very talented Hazel a while back and the term just stuck. The Ultimate Drug

I don't remember exactly what the letters in WHAM stand for, but the term basically means a part in a story that evokes strong feelings, probably making you cry or want to cry. Somebody else might be able to give you a better, more exact definition.

I know there's a list of what all the accronyms mean, but I'm not sure where it is. Hopefully someone remembers and will post the link.

~Anna

#201128 10/12/04 04:05 PM
sandrad Offline OP
Hack from Nowheresville
OP Offline
Hack from Nowheresville
Oh, that was so clever! I really liked the fic. smile1

Thanks Wendy & Anna...but now I'm confused: what's the difference between a tank plot and a WHAM then?

Mirage

#201129 10/12/04 05:34 PM
Pulitzer
Pulitzer
Mirage, do you mean a Tank Ending? The best way to explain that is to send you here , where the originator of the Tank Ending, Tank Wilson himself, explains what they're all about.