Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#199560 04/03/04 03:25 AM
MLT Offline OP
Merriwether
OP Offline
Merriwether
The Canadian courts just came out with a ruling that says that the sharing of music over the internet is not illegal.

Now, I'm not a really big music fan and have never downloaded music. But now that this issue has come up, and a court is telling me it's not illegal, I'm curious about the whole process. Where does one go to share music? Or is it just a bunch of friends sending songs back and forth across the internet to each other? Do you need special softwear? What's it all about?

ML wave (who is regularly clueless)

She was in such a good mood she let all the pedestrians in the crosswalk get to safety before taking off again.
- CC Aiken, The Late Great Lois Lane
#199561 04/03/04 03:52 AM
A
Pulitzer
Pulitzer
A
I'm not an techie expert - far from it - but I've been downloading music for a long time (my playlist with downloaded songs is about 21 hours long) and I can give you some info on it.

You download a program like Kazaa or WinMX. Then, when you install it, you set a folder (let's name it 'Shared') in your hard drive that you can use for your downloads. When you type a keyword in the 'search' screen of the program, the program searches the 'Shared' folders of every user of the program that is connected to the Internet at that moment, and presents them to you. (Same happens with your own 'Shared' folder when another user is doing a search on their own) Then, you download the song you chose from a user that has it, so that you both have it after the downloading is finished.

This is it, more or less. For more info, try someone else smile
AnnaBtG.

What we've got here is failure to communicate...
#199562 04/03/04 05:00 AM
Top Banana
Top Banana
What Anna said is true, that's how it basically works. I only use Kazaalite, because it's saver than Kazaa and I find it easier to use.