Lois & Clark Fanfic Message Boards
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Blogger
OP Offline
Blogger
So, in thinking about "Whine, Whine, Whine" I was wondering (and I am no legal expert so I'm not even sure if this applies) but wouldn't Good Samaritan laws protect Superman from being sued by that guy?

According to wikipedia:
Good Samaritan laws in the United States and Canada are laws protecting from blame those who choose to aid others who are injured or ill. They are intended to reduce bystanders' hesitation to assist, for fear of being prosecuted for unintentional injury or wrongful death.

I guess you could say that the scenario doesn't strictly fall under the law because Superman was not aiding and injured party, but attempting to prevent such an injury...but still I'm sure there has to be some legal precedent.

Of course, my biggest question about that episode has always been why he went after the guy instead of catching the speaker itself...

"I don't know Mom; it's a bomb stain." -Clark Kent
Merriwether
Merriwether
There's an obvious reason he went after the guy...so they could make an episode out of it. IF he catches the speaker, there's no plot.

I think, therefore, I get bananas.

When in doubt, think about time travel conundrums. You'll confuse yourself so you can forget what you were in doubt about.

What's the difference between ignorance, apathy, and ambivalence?
I don't know and I don't care one way or the other.
Top Banana
Top Banana
Woody, you spoilsport. :p

I've always wondered that myself, Katey . . . in fact, there's a fic somewhere (I can't remember what it's called, or who it's by) where, after a revelation, Lois actually TELLS Clark to catch the speaker instead of grabbing the guy.