Next Thread
Print Thread
#168183 10/12/12 04:35 AM
C
Top Banana
OP Offline
Top Banana
C
I've been writing one story for a few years about three different universes (Earth-One/Canon Clark, Earth-Two/Alt-Clark and Earth-3/Evil Clark) until I realized that it was similar to Long Strange Trip and more importantly seems to be moving in similar yet different direction from her sequel currently being written/posted. I'm not sure what I should do with it now. Should I sit on it? Just ignore her story and post my own? etc?

CLARK: No. I'm just worried I'm a jinx.
JONATHAN: A jinx?
CLARK: Yeah. Let's face it, ever since she's known me, Lois's been kidnapped, frozen, pushed off buildings, almost stabbed, poisoned, buried alive and who knows what else, and it's all because of me.
-"Contact" (You're not her jinx, you're her blessing.)
Boards Chief Administrator Emeritus
Nobel Peace Prize Winner
Nobel Peace Prize Winner
Absolutely not! This question has been coming up since the dawn of fanfic and I've always been of the same opinion - it won't be the same story because it's not the same author tackling the subject matter. All kinds of variations will sneak in because you are two different people.

I recall when I was in the middle of writing one of mine - can't even remember which it was now - I gave it over halfway to Erin Klingler to beta. And we were both amused and astonished at how many points of similarity there were in my story and an as yet unpublished story on her HD. And I mean right down to the fine detail. Yet I'd never seen her story until then. Nor she mine.

Sometimes GMTA is just a cosmic force you can't avoid. laugh

So...have at it! smile

LabRat smile

Athos: If you'd told us what you were doing, we might have been able to plan this properly.
Aramis: Yes, sorry.
Athos: No, no, by all means, let's keep things suicidal.

The Musketeers
Kerth
Kerth