Lois & Clark Fanfic Message Boards
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#166064 06/05/11 10:26 AM
Nobel Peace Prize Winner
OP Offline
Nobel Peace Prize Winner
I'm fairly new to the MB and I'm wondering what other writers' writing process is - pre and post posting (gosh, that even sounded bad to my ears, blush I apologize). Let me try and clarify.

I didn't start posting Missing Lois to the MB until I had 8 Chapters written and completed and I saw the end in sight. But when I posted The Yodeler's Song, I waited until it was BR'd (Thanks again, Lynn) before posting.

Do you wait until your story is finished before you start posting? Do you write as you post? (especially when you know it going to have several parts to it?) Do you wait until you have a sizeable portion written and BR'd before you post?

The reason I ask is because now that I've finished writing my EPIC, I'm working on a shorter piece. Longer than my vignette about Perry, but shorter than Missing Lois (since it's hard to be longer). How many pages should I have in the tank before submitting it to a kind BR who will be willing to look at my work? Should I see the end in sight before posting or should I start posting before then?

So, to answer these questions (since I know each writer works differently), I pose them to you. What is your writing and posting process?

VirginiaR.
"On the long road, take small steps." -- Jor-el, "The Foundling"
---
"clearly there is a lack of understanding between those two... he speaks Lunkheadanian and she Stubbornanian" -- chelo.
#166065 06/05/11 04:00 PM
Features Writer
Features Writer
I'm a feedback junkie. Typically I post a chapter about three seconds after I finished writing them. I'm naturally lazy and the feedback keeps me motivated to keep writing. I wrote 100,000 words in 6 weeks like that once. Of course, I haven't had a beta reader in years, so that means I post faster than most.

#166066 06/05/11 04:36 PM
S
Merriwether
Merriwether
S