Next Thread
Print Thread
#165779 03/27/11 06:03 PM
S
Merriwether
OP Offline
Merriwether
S
Just curious. As a reader, I tend to prefer shorter chapters in a longer fanfic. It makes it easier for me to find the time to read and enjoy them, especially when my fun time on the computer can be limited. However, as a writer, I tend to prefer longer chapters. It makes me go into more detail and helps me develop the story better.

Which do you prefer?

Joan

#165780 03/27/11 07:38 PM
Top Banana
Top Banana
Hi Joan,

As a reader I never thought about it much. I know that I never liked many super short chapters. However, as long as they aren't too short, I don't really have much preference.

As a writer I have a much more stringent set of guidelines. In longer stories I try for 3500 +/- 1000 words per chapter. That's enough to get something done but not so long as to tire out a reader. I'd guess that 90% of the chapters in my longer stories fall within that boundary. Some are shorter or longer, but those are exceptions. (They're really more guidelines than rules. smile )

As for your longer or shorter question, I don't know. Is 3500 words long or short?

Bob

#165781 03/27/11 08:43 PM
Features Writer
Features Writer
As a reader, I admit that I like longer chapters, but then, that's because patience isn't one of my virtues and I hate waiting to find out what will happen next. smile

As a writer, I very rarely pay attention to how long or short my chapters are except to make sure that they aren't absurdly one or the other. And more often than not, I only check them by how many pages they are, which changes for every format you put it in.

In all, I like to judge more on the contents of the story than length one way or the other.

#165782 03/28/11 12:10 AM
L
Pulitzer
Pulitzer
L
Interesting question!