Next Thread
Print Thread
#137876 04/01/04 10:05 AM
Elena Offline OP
Beat Reporter
OP Offline
Beat Reporter
Well, first of all, WOW!!!

Kaylle, this brought tears to my eyes and I still can't get past this lump I have in my throat. goofy

And the professor's basic concerns:
1) The story feels distant because everything that happens is filtered through the protagonist's memory. This kills the energy of the story.
I'm not a professor, but when something is so powerful and doesn't let go of me till I finished reading it, well, I wouldn't say it feels distant. confused I think the way you wrote it is actually its strenght. How can you empathize with someone if you don't feel what they feel, if you don't see things through their eyes/memories? confused

2) The characters aren't developed enough; they have no details to make them interesting and independent of the plot.
Okay, maybe this is where I'm biased. Reading all this I couldn't help thinking of my uncle who died of brain cancer and of your mom, of course. frown

To me the characters were incredibly interesting. I was hurting with them, feeling their anguish, hoping Charlie would be fine. I wasn't exactly hoping for a happy ending, though, mind you. I think it was a brilliant idea to leave things unfinished. We don't know if Charlie will make it, but that's not the point, I don't think.

Anyway, sorry if I can't help more, but know I loved this. goofy

Elena smile

Methos: "I'm easily amused."

(Indiscretions - Highlander: The Series)
#137877 04/01/04 11:52 AM
C
Blogger
Blogger
C
Hey Kaylle!

First At All... I think your professor Sucks! I really like the story. He could have some reason, IMHO, if this was an usual kind of story a begin a plot and a final, as the most classic fanfic, but this is not.