Unafraid
By Laura Davies

They say that public speaking and death are the most common fears of the human race. Public speaking is not problem, but death! Ah, now there's the sticker. The last thing I expected was to be spending all of this time in bed contemplating my own mortality.

It seems like only yesterday that I graduated from high school at the top of my class with my entire future ahead of me. I'd been accepted to a great college. Hell, I even had a full scholarship. Now I'll be lucky if I make it to my twentieth birthday.

My freshman year started okay. You know, with all of the normal problems that come with leaving home for the first time. I was homesick for my dad and my little brother, but these things pass, right? I know what you're thinking--you want to know how my mom fits into the picture. Well, the answer is that she doesn't. See, Mom died when Jamie and I were little. Dad was absolutely devastated, but that's another story. Life goes on… or so I've been told.

Anyway, the first semester of my freshman year was normal. I made some good friends, fought with my roommate, and even almost failed a couple of classes because I spent too much time partying. Then I went home for Christmas and didn't come back.

I can see what you're thinking again--you think I was in some sort of accident, but I wasn't. I'd been sick on and off all last term, but we put it down to the "freshman flu". After all, I'd never lived in dorms before and truthfully, I don't think my father wanted to believe it was anything serious. I'm still Daddy's little girl.

So here I sit, day after day, in bed. My nineteenth birthday was last week and my old roommate came to see me. I think she was shocked by the fact that I don't have hair anymore. The doctors say that I could kick the cancer, but I'm not sure I believe them anymore.