Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#12517 05/02/04 01:44 AM
Hack from Nowheresville
OP Offline
Hack from Nowheresville
Sunday, May 02, 2004
8:12 AM

My life is really a mess. Well, it’s not really a mess. I'm having a wonderful time. My schedule is a mess. My responsibilities are being shirked away as if they were worthless items that belonged in the dump. Clearly they aren’t. But what about everything that is important to me, my family, my church, my work as a travel writer, my perennial garden, doing the hides…oh there it is again, that never-ceasing pressure to tan those stupid hides. I cant’ go there, cant’ think about what a mess I’ve made of that great plan. Rotting hides in the water, moulding hides in the barrels that aren’t big enough to either turn them or to fit them all in under the water. No I definitely don’t want to go there.

It’s so easy to just print out a really good story and sit back and read it, take it to the hammock in the shade at the end of the lane and lie there, escaping into that other world of romance and intrigue. But of course I don’t have to print one out at all. No, I can just sit at my computer and read story after story after story. I know the plot line. I know the way things are going to turn out, but each story is built on some bit of a fork in the road, the ‘what ifs’ that the episodes have in them. What if he told her now? What if he didn’t tell her? What if he lost his memory somewhere else than in Metropolis? What if, what if, what if.

The darnest thing is that these stories are so spellbinding, so insightful, so well written. I cant’ stop myself. I can Know, and plan what I’ll do today, but in the end, the days are just like I want them to be, filled with my fantasy heroes, following their paths, their choices, their investigations and all the romance in between.