Thanks for the nice comments, I really appreciate hearing from you. And thanks again to Laswa and Sas for the BRing--they have been wonderful.

Again, as a cautionary statement -- notice that there are two views of the future and you will be brought into both of these almost simultaneously. Hope you like the voyage.

From Part 1

“Okay,” the English teacher said. “Let me try again. How many of you believe in time travel?”

Claire walked into Lois Lane’s classroom.

Lois and the students stopped and stared at the young brunette.

“Hi!” Claire began. “My name is Claire Ken...Kennedy. I’m a new student here. I just moved to Smallville from Metropolis and, in answer to the teacher’s question. I not only believe in time travel. I’ve done it. I’m from the future!”

Now for Part 2

“She shouldn’t have said that, should she, Mommy!” the little boy said as his mother paused in her reading.

The dark-haired woman smiled at her son, participating in the game they always did when she read the book. “What do you think?” she inquired, playfully--asking the question she invariably asked when they got to this part.

“Uncle Herbie was upset at her wasn’t, he?”

His mother smiled again and turned the page.

##########

Smallville, Kansas
Monday,
March 14, 1994

“That was a preposterous thing to say!” the elderly man admonished Claire.

“They didn’t believe it,” she said, laughing and joined the man at the dining room table.

“It sort of broke the ice, Uncle Herbie; and now if I say anything even remotely weird, they’ll just chalk it up to my flakiness.”

“What about Miss Lane?” he asked her.

“She’s wonderful! Just like all the history books say.”

“And Mr. Kent?”

Claire paused and bit her lower lip. “He’s so like my father,” she said, tears coming to her eyes. “Since my mother died, my dad and I have only had each other. We have to save him, Mr. Wells. We just have to!”

Dystopia
December,