This story was written in french, and I wouldn't have been able to post it without datasprite12's great job with the translation. Thank her if you like it, and if you don't, put the blame on me. I thank too my beat reader VirginiaR, who made miracles with the shaping. Anyway, I'm a newbie on the board, and it seems that you guys are a real community, so I hope you'll forgive me if I'm clumsy in a way or another. Of course, nothing is mine, etc.

Daily Planet

The newsroom was in a festive mood. Most journalists were gathered around the desk of a handsome man sporting a large grin on his face and brandishing the prestigious award he had just won. The article that had earned him this reward, a powerful denunciation of the mayor’s shady activities, had been on the front page of the newspaper the month before. Perhaps some more experienced colleagues were silently jealous of the man, but the competitiveness amongst the Daily Planet reporters remained friendly.

“Teamwork, TEAMwork,” repeated Perry White, the editor in chief. Teamwork would allow them to reach the summit.

Thus the congratulations rained upon the hero of the day in the form of warm handshakes, pats on the back and enthusiastic exclamations. A young man however stayed away from the general euphoria and, quickly crossing the bullpen, almost ran into one of his colleagues.

The latter, a certain Ralph, thrust over his head the mug of hot coffee he had saved from an imminent disaster and smiled at him. “So, Kent, running away? Not partying with the others?”

“I have an article to finish.”