Thanks again to Kathy. Have gotten quite a bit of BIII written today. Have been working my way through my S1 DVDs and have had several plot bunnies hop through my head :p .

Last time:

She sighed. "I'm sorry, Clark. Honestly, I'm new at this whole non-dysfunctional relationship thing."

"Me, too. But we'll figure it out. Together, but you have to talk to me." They'd started walking again, hand in hand. "And don't automatically assume the worst in whatever."

Lois nodded. "I know and I'm not normally like that but everything is just changing and... I'm more than a bit out of my comfort zone and it's throwing everything off."

They stopped walking as they reached the Planet.

"Just let me know what I can do to help," Clark said softly. "I am so glad you're here and I’m looking forward to getting to know everything about you and seeing what happens with us, but I don't want it to be any harder on you than it has to be."

"Take me to see my folks tonight?" she asked. "I know it's only been a couple days but I miss them."

"Of course."

"Thank you." She tugged on his hand. "Now we have work to do."

*~*15*~*

They didn’t make it back to Nathan Lane's house until after dinner.

"What's all this about?" Lois asked as they drove past a well-dressed guardian at the front gate.

"Gramps must be having a fundraiser," Clark said, his brow furrowing. "Yeah. He mentioned it last week but I forget what cause it is this time."

There were valets and assorted other personnel at one side of the massive house, but Clark pulled into the porte cochere on the other side and then into a parking space.

"We'll just avoid them all together," he told her, pulling their suitcases out of the back of the Jeep.

He stashed the luggage near one of the side staircases and they headed into the kitchen to get a bite to eat.

"There you two are!" They turned to see Sam standing there.

"What's up, Dad?" Clark asked around a mouthful of appetizer.