DISCLAIMER: None of these characters are mine. This story's villian (er, villianess) was loosely based on a villian in the Animated Series called Live Wire. She is not mine, the characters are not mine - just the story idea is mine. Please don't sue! I'm just a poor college student!

- - - -

Supergirl heard the alarms and saw the people evacuating long before she landed at the entrance to Metropolis Light and Power. She hurried in and ran at super speed through the maze of corridors to the main generators. She stopped when she saw Traci standing in front of them.

“It’s over, Traci,” she said.

Traci turned around. She glared at the young woman. “Stand back, Stupidgirl. It’s your fault I’m like this! Yours and Stupidman’s.”

“It was an accident,” Supergirl replied, edging closer. “I wasn’t there that night, and Superman had no way of knowing that was going to happen.”

“Liar! You two think you’re better than everyone because you have those superpowers, but you’re wrong! You’re not the only person in Metropolis with superpowers anymore!” Traci reached out for two high-voltage power cables.

“No!” Supergirl shouted as she rushed over to the other woman. She put her hands on her shoulders just as Traci touched the cables. Electricity surged through the two bodies, and Supergirl was thrown back. Her hair and her costume were smoking, the edges of her cape smoldering as she slowly sat up, stunned. She looked over at Traci as she heard the screaming and slowly got to her feet. Superman landed beside her and stopped her from advancing on Traci, but Supergirl struggled.

“We have to help her!” she shouted at her cousin.

Superman kept her back and turned to the generator. He focused his vision on the cables just above where Traci was holding them. Two beams of heat shot from his eyes and melted the cable, breaking the connection. Traci collapsed to the floor, her eyes closed, unmoving.