DISCLAIMER: None of these characters are mine. This story's villian (er, villianess) was loosely based on a villian in the Animated Series called Live Wire. She is not mine, the characters are not mine - just the story idea is mine. Please don't sue! I'm just a poor college student!

- - - -

Linda looked confused as she cocked her head. “Mr. White, I’m . . . flattered, really, but, but . . . why me?”

“Because I believe that you deserve a chance to prove yourself,” Perry replied. “Now, do I hear a yes?”

Linda hesitated for a moment, then smiled. “Of course, Mr. White. I’d be happy to.” She got to her feet and held out her hand.

“Great,” Perry smiled. He got up and shook the young woman’s hand. “I’ll need you to fill out some paperwork and stuff, but -”

“What kind of paperwork?” Linda asked.

“Oh, nothing much,” Perry replied. “We don’t have to worry about it now; we can take care of it -” He was interrupted as the light bulbs in the office exploded, sending glass shards flying. Linda looked startled as Perry covered his head with his hands, then both of them glanced out the office doors.

The lights in the News Room exploded, along with the computers, the televisions, and anything else that was electrical or powered by electricity. People shouted and scattered as shards of glass flew through the air. Little electrical fires started sprouting up sporadically from the damaged equipment. Linda’s super hearing picked up shouting and laughing from outside. She hurried over to Perry’s office windows and looked out.