DISCLAIMER: None of these characters are mine. This story's villian (er, villianess) was loosely based on a villian in the Animated Series called Live Wire. She is not mine, the characters are not mine - just the story idea is mine. Please don't sue! I'm just a poor college student!

- - - -

The elevator pinged before the doors opened, and Linda stepped out into the News Room. She was dressed in black, Italian leather boots, black pants, and a plum wool sweater. Her brown hair was pulled back into a ponytail, there were gold studs on her ears, and she was wearing a little makeup. She stood on the little alcove near the elevators and scanned the area, looking for Clark. She couldn’t see him out in the open, so she used her X-ray vision and scanned the other rooms.

“Hey, Linda,” Jimmy said as he walked up to her, smiling. He was holding some papers.

Linda looked startled as she focused on her regular vision again, blushing as Jimmy approached. “Hi, Jimmy,” she replied nervously, smiling shyly. “Is, um, Clark here? I need to talk with him.”

“No, he and Lois are out on assignment.” She looked a little disappointed. “You okay?”

“Well, I guess it’s no secret that Clark and I have been fighting.”

“Yeah,” Jimmy said. “He was pretty steamed at you this morning. Said you were ungrateful.”

“I am *not* ungrateful,” she said loudly, startling the young man. She sighed. “Sorry, Jimmy. I’m not mad at you.”

“I know,” Jimmy replied. He gave her a smile. “I don’t think you’re ungrateful.”

She smiled at him. “Thanks.”

Jimmy chuckled nervously as he rubbed the back of his head. “I mean, uh, I see where you’re coming from, really. You hate being treated like a little kid. I’d hate to be treated like a little kid myself.”