Last time:
Clark

"Are you really okay, Lois?"

She nodded without looking at me. "Yeah. I'm just tired and want to go to sleep."

I sighed and reached over to flip the light off.

I scooted under the covers and stared at the stars through the ceiling. I knew it would be a while before Lois would actually sleep and if she decided she wanted to talk, I wanted to be awake.

My mind wandered back to the whole 'Incredibles' thing.

I'd seen the previews and all that, even if I hadn't seen the movie yet. The basic premise was that there were superheroes with secret identies.

Could I do something like that someday?

I helped when I could without threatening my identity or anything like that. It wasn’t much. I stopped a mugging a few weeks earlier, but that was mostly just because I'd shown up, not because I'd done anything special.

It was definitely something to keep in the back of my mind and talk to Mom about sometime. I didn't think I'd do anything before I graduated from college. And there was the whole Lana thing to deal with, too.

About three thousand things had to happen before I was ready to even consider that, but I was on about twenty seven of that list.

I sighed as Lois' breathing slowed.

I rolled over and tried to sleep.

*~*87*~*
~~~~~
Lois
~~~~~

I sank wearily into the chair, my purse landing on the floor beside me.

Daddy was alive.

That was the most important thing. And he was going to be okay. He'd be in the hospital for a few days, but he was alive and shouldn't have any long term effects from the heart attack.

My head flopped back and I closed my eyes, silent tears snaking their way down my cheeks.

I could hear Clark in the nursery talking to Jessica.

I swiped at my cheeks. I didn't want him seeing me like this. I hurried to the bathroom, locking the door behind me. In minutes, I was in the large tub, the water and bubbles rising around me. I could hear Clark moving around in our room and it wasn't long before he knocked on the door.

"Lois?"