A big thank you to my betas – Kelly, Carol, and Beth (who are still talking to me despite the fact that some of them seem to think I'm evil).

From Chapter 5

“Thank you, Lois. I'm really lucky to have you as a friend. I know we don't really know each other long enough for you to do a favor this big for me.”

I shook my head. “Nonsense, you were there for me when my mom called and you even offered to entertain her if we needed you to. You've been a great friend to me already.”

“Still, Lois. Thank you.”

“You're welcome. Now, here's the thing. I'm an atrocious cook. I actually don't do it. We order in on my nights. But Chad is great. Tomorrow is his night and it's a good one to come over. He's off all day tomorrow to recover from tonight's shift. So, he'll be well rested and probably eager for some company. Does tomorrow work for you?”

“It sounds perfect,” Clark said.

Chapter 6

“Good morning,” Chad said as he crawled into bed the next morning.

“'Morning,” I replied sleepily. “What time is it?”

“About seven,” Chad yawned in my ear.

I had another fifteen minutes before I had to get up and I scooched backwards until we were spooning.

“Did you have a good night?” Chad asked me and I felt myself stiffen slightly at his words. I had promised Clark I would not tell Chad, but it was weird to have a secret from him.

“Clark stopped by,” I said. “He's… having some trouble adjusting to life here.”

“So he came to you? Somehow you aren't the first person I would think of for pointers on how to adjust to Metropolis. You think if someone can't live here, they should just move. You don't have any patience for that kind of thing.”

I laughed and could feel Chad shaking with laughter behind me. “Well, Clark didn't know that.”

Kissing me just behind my ear, he asked, “So, did you help?”

“I think so,” I said. I did think so. Clark definitely seemed better when he left last night than when he arrived. “I invited him for dinner tonight.”