Thanks again to my betas – Kelly, Carol, and Beth!

From Chapter 4

“I'm Him,” he said, and he said “him” with enough importance for me to know that it was someone important, even though I had no idea who he was talking about.

“Him who?”

“The guy… the guy who can fly. Superman.” he said.

For a moment, I said nothing and then I laughed. “Really Clark, you are an incredible actor,” I said. “I thought you really had some big secret.”

“I do. I am him,” he said, his voice still serious.

“Come on, Clark!” I said. “I've seen you. You bump into walls and trip more than anyone I know. Superman didn't seem like that at all.”

Clark did not say anything in response, but then stopped my laughter cold. He was floating two inches off my couch.

Chapter 5

I could not find any words. None. They were all gone. I was a journalist, I made my living with words, but Clark had made me speechless.

Clark stopped floating and looked embarrassed. “I told you,” he said, but his tone was sad rather than accusatory.

I nodded. “I know. I just…”

“You didn't believe me,” Clark supplied.

“Do you blame me?”

“Of course not,” Clark said, finally lifting his head to look at me. “I knew it would be hard to believe.”

I closed my eyes, trying to get my jumbled thoughts in order. “Clark,” I said softly, opening my eyes. “Why did you tell me?”

“I needed… someone to talk to,” he said, his voice stricken.

“But Rachel…”

“Rachel doesn't know. She can't know,” he said urgently.

“Wait,” I said, understanding dawning. “She didn't know you could fly before you became Superman?” Clark shook his head. “So, she doesn't know you're Superman?” Another head shake. “Clark! How could you not tell her?”

“Would you want to learn you were dating some sort of freak?” Clark asked, his tone bitter.

“Clark, you're not a freak. What you can do, it's amazing, a gift,” I told him.

“But what if Rachel doesn't think so?” he asked. “I can't… I can't tell her.”

“Ever?”