Title: Costumes, 1/?
Author: htbthomas
Rating: PG
Word Count: 2,187 words
Summary: When Clark shows up at the Planet’s costume party unprepared, Lois improvises with surprising results.
Author's Notes: I'm setting this fic in the fuzzy middle area of Season 1 where Lois and Clark are starting to click as a team, post Pheromone, My Lovely but before Lois begins to get serious with Lex. I know the idea of a costume party has been done many times before, but hopefully this version isn't exactly like someone else's. I'm not as well read in the L&C fandom as I'd like. But if you do know of a similar one, please let me know!

I wrote this as a birthday fic for one of my friends on LiveJournal... and I have been a long time reader of L&C fanfic. This is my first time posting here blush -- thanks to MrsMosley for encouraging me!

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Lois slinked across the newsroom floor, knowing full well all eyes were on her. How could they not be - her mermaid costume fit almost as well as a second skin. Below a revealing bikini top, her iridescent green skirt flared at the ankles, creating a "fin" effect that allowed her to walk unhindered. The men looked at her with appreciation, most of the women with a touch of jealousy. But there was only one set of eyes she wanted to look on her, and there was no way he would show up at a Daily Planet costume party. Not unless there were a bomb set to go off, or a hostage situation...

Lois sighed. No, unless he made a habit of X-raying the building to check on her, Lois' skimpy costume would probably go to waste tonight. Still, it was a little thrilling to think that he just might catch a glimpse of her. She wondered what he would think about it, blushing a little at the reaction she imagined he might have...

"Wow."