Hello, all! Thanks for all your reviews, and if you haven’t checked back on chapter 39’s FDK and want to hear some more of my blathering and some very nice ideas and comments from your peers, check back there.

Oh! An extra warning: this chapter is pure fluff. I’ve never written such a thing before without a good dose of angst to balance it off, so I apologize beforehand if it doesn’t work.

I hope you enjoy!

---------------------------------------------

Chapter 40: Getting to Know You

---------------------------------------------

Superman hovered just outside Lois’s window, heedless of the pouring rain. He was already soaked to the skin a thousand times over (his suit provided little protection from the torrential downpour), and his hair was slicked back as water slid down his face like a constant river.

He was late—it was almost ten o’clock, by the glimpse he had caught of a rushing businessman’s wristwatch as the man had struggled down below with an uncooperative umbrella. Clark had actually been honestly surprised. Flying around all day, in and out of so many time zones that day and night seemed to blur as one, time had slipped away from him, leaving only grey exhaustion in the late hour.

Of course, he had known and tried to warn Lois that something like that would probably happen, but she just hadn’t listened. And he really had meant to get there on time, but he’d been stuck dealing with the earthquake in Hong Kong for over six hours now, and hadn’t been able to pull away until now, even if the time had occurred to him. No—he had been too busy to worry about the luxury of time until now.

Clark ran a soaked hand over his face to brush the rain from his eyes, but seeing as his hand was dripping wet it did little good.

He was tired.

It hadn’t helped that it had been night in Hong Kong during most of his work there, and he had returned to Metropolis to be greeted with the sky dumping several tons of water over his head.