Okay, this is my first attempt at an LC story, so any constructive criticism would be extremely helpful. I'll try to post weekly, but I'm not making any promises.

Mucho thanks to Sara, Rivka, and Avia who provided very helpful beta's and really turned this thing around.

On with the show.

~Part One~

"Clark, I can't believe you're watching that." Lois Lane grabbed the remote control from his hand and pushed the red power button, shutting off the television. She shuddered and sat next to him on his couch.

"What? Lois, it's Dick Clark, a New Year's tradition," He smiled goofily at her and she couldn't help but smile back. He was just so dang cute.

"He's Satan in disguise," she said, trying to keep a straight face, "The modern day Peter Pan. Every year, this guy hosts 'Rockin' New Years Eve' or whatever it's called, and is so full of energy and happiness that you know he has to have taken way too much Prozac or something. That kind of happy is just not naturally possible." Taking in Clark's amused look, she added, "He's just creepy."

"Of course he is, Lois," Clark leaned back into the couch, relaxing and taking a sip of his red wine. He tried desperately to conceal his amusement, but wasn't terribly successful.

"What's so funny?" Lois asked indignantly. She didn't see what the hilarity was about. All she had done was tell the truth. Dick Clark was a freak of nature.

"Nothing," Another stifled laugh. Maybe the wine was getting to him. But she didn't think that was likely; neither of them had drank more than one glass.

"Don't patronize me, Clark. You're practically bursting at the seams."

"It's just that… Lois, you never change!" he blurted.