From part 18...

"Don't lie to me, Lois!" he shouted, his eyes flashing. "I'm a journalist, too. I know what it's like to finally stumble across a story that you think can make your career. You found the story you wanted and wrote it! It’s as simple as that!" He stood there for a moment, daring Lois to argue with his line of reasoning.

When she continued to stare at him in shock, her mouth half open in stunned silence, he shook his head and went on, unable to stand the silence even a moment longer. His anger turned to a throbbing ache and tears sprung unbidden into his eyes. He spoke, his voice a strangled whisper. "Lois, I can’t believe you would do this after everything we’ve meant to each other. I really thought we had something. For the first time in my life I thought I’d finally found someone I could share everything with. And I did, along with my heart and soul. And this is how you repay me."

Lois took a step toward him, her eyes pleading and her hand outstretched. "Clark, please, you’ve got to believe me..."

But Clark shook his head and took a deep, shaky breath in an effort to hold back the threatening tears. He wasn’t about to let her see him cry a second time. "Goodbye, Lois."

Then, without a backward glance, he turned and walked out her front door.

He got as far as the alley two blocks away before he let the tears come. He changed into the Suit and launched himself into the night sky, flying faster and faster in an attempt to exert the anger he felt exploding inside of him--and the hot, aching pain of betrayal in his heart.

A few days ago he had turned to Lois when his world had been falling apart and his heart was aching, and she had been there for him. But this time, as his world crumbled down around him, he knew the situation was very different. He was going to have to deal with his own heartache. Alone.

Now on to part 19...