Wedding Consquences: 2/?
by Nan Smith

Previously:

He shrugged. "I was in Africa for several months after I graduated from Midwest U," he explained. "For a little while I worked with a group of medical missionaries, flying in and out of the interior. I never had a license, though. It was simply a matter of one of the pilots teaching me to be a backup pilot, just in case. I haven't flown a plane in nearly four years."

"Thank god you remembered how." She fumbled with the seat belt. "I guess we'd better get out."

He shook his head. "We may as well stay where we are until the sun comes up," he said. "We haven't got a clue where we are. This sure as heck isn't Kansas."

He was right about that, she knew. "How about the radio? Can't we call for help?"

He gestured to two dangling wires. "I think our pilot made sure we couldn't do that, on the off-chance that we did get down safely," he said. "I'll take a closer look when it's daylight, but ..."

"Yeah. Oh, Clark ..."

He put his arms around her. "We'll get out of here, Lois," he said. "It takes more than this to kill Lane and Kent."

And now, Part 2:

The cabin was cold, now that the heater was no longer on. Lois pulled her legs under her and wrapped her arms around her upper torso, tugging the light jacket tightly around her shoulders. Clark huddled in the pilot's seat and even in the dark of pre-dawn, she could tell that he was shivering.

"Clark?" she whispered. There was no reason to whisper but something about the hour and the circumstances seemed to make it appropriate.

"Yeah?"

"Are you cold?"

"A little." The words were clipped, and she thought she could hear the quiver in his voice.

"I'm freezing. It's summer. Why is it so cold?"

"I think it's the altitude," he said, and she was sure that his voice shook this time. "We're pretty high in the mountains."

"Where do you think we are?"