The Crystal Demon: 27/?
by Nancy Smith and Linda Garrick

When Alan stepped into the control room, Lyn swiveled her chair around, a relieved expression on her face. "Gosh, I hope this is a good idea, Alan. I've never done anything like this before -- especially to a Jilectan."

"It'll be okay," Alan assured her. "The only thing we're going to injure is his dignity." He took the copilot's seat next to her. "Want me to take over?"

"Definitely. Dad taught me to handle a skipper but a Jil yacht is another thing altogether."

"They're not that different," Alan said. "By the time you've been in the Underground six months you'll be able to handle anything from a skipper to a battlecruiser." He glanced at the time indicator. "One minute."

Lyn smiled cautiously. "Do you really think I can?"

"Sure. You're a psychic. We're the Special Forces. We have to be able to do a little of everything, and the thing is, we can. I'll bet you never thought you could do any of the things you've done since we met on Xenis -- but you did, and you did them pretty well."

"I hadn't thought of that," she admitted softly. "I surprised myself, really."

"You didn't surprise me," Alan said. "I almost expected it. There were a couple of times I was afraid you'd been killed, but you came through alive and on your feet. You even stood up to Halthzor. It's not everyone who can say that."

She didn't answer, and he thought there was a surprised quality in the silence. He relaxed back in the seat, stealing a quick glance at her. She sensed it and turned her head to look him in the eyes.

*Alan,* she said softly in his mind.

*Yes?*

*You know, don't you, that I really wasn't insulted before when you thought I was attractive. I like you very much, you know, and I ...* Her mental voice wavered and then became firm. *And I did then, too. I'm sorry I behaved like such a fool.*