Ended up working the whole afternoon =(

Next part on Monday!

Thank you again Nancy (anonpip), Rel and Michael!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Both Sides of the Coin
Part 31

Table of Contents

Dr. Carlton was fluttering around his office while Lois and Clark tried to conduct their interview. “The streets of Metropolis are no place for unsupervised delinquent children.”

Lois and Clark shared a glance and Lois jumped on him. “Unsupervised? So you don’t think there’s an adult behind this?”

Carlton stiffened. “I didn't say that. We simply don't have the facts... I'm a scientist. I abhor rampant, unsubstantiated speculation...”

Clark jumped in. “In fact, you’re a *distinguished* scientist.” Carlton drew back. “Your work in experimental neuro-psychology is world renowned.”

The other man preened. “You've done your homework, Mr. Kent.”

Clark moved in for the kill. “So, why is a man of your reputation and credentials holed away in a tiny private school acting as a volunteer psychologist?”

Carleton’s eyes flitted across the room. Lois caught and held his gaze while Clark tipped his glasses down his nose and began to scan the room, reading documents and looking for evidence.

“I think of it as ‘grounding.’ After all, the doctor-patient relationship is the framework for all medical science...”

Lois pounced again. “Then why, after the breakout, didn’t you think it necessary to counsel the rest of the students immediately, to help them cope with any anxiety?”

Carlton was momentarily flummoxed. Then he gathered himself up. “I made an evaluation based on criteria a lay person, such as yourself, couldn't possibly understand.”

Lois sneered. “That's convenient.” She stormed out of the office, Clark in her wake.

Once outside the office, Lois began to rant. Once they were further out of range, she took a deep breath. “Find anything?”

Clark held up a tiny tube labeled “Mentamide 5.”

Lois broke into a grin. “Good job, Flyboy...”

Lois arrived home after work and froze just inside her door.