As much as Monroe and Sheehan would rather have been sitting in their brown nondescript department car as they waited for the forensics technicians to show up and back up to arrive, they grabbed the Polaroid camera and several film packs from the trunk instead. They went back inside to take the preliminary photographs and measurements.

Monroe had just finished taking photographs of the back room, taking care to note the position of the vat with the ‘body’ in it, when the crime scene people arrived and took over. They took samples of everything they could find, especially the blue slimy goo that seemed to be everywhere. There was broken glass on the floor and more of the goo.

“What do you think this is all for?” Monroe asked one of the techs.

“Not being a mad scientist, I can’t say,” the tech replied. “But that thing in there is still growing and getting more human looking all the time.”

“Who do you think it’s going to be?” Monroe asked.

“Another of Capone’s cronies, no doubt,” the tech said. “I wish we could find this Hamilton guy’s notes. He’s pulled off one hell of a trick, bringing back dead gangsters. How many bank hold ups is in now?”

“Four. And yeah, we need to find the live ones that are already around,” Sheehan said bitterly.

0 0 0

The house lights came up in the nearly empty auditorium, to the groans of the several teenagers in the seats who had not been watching the screen. A few older people also groaned, but because their entertainment on the screen, or their naps, had been interrupted.