Volcano Island Ch 7
By Nancy Smith and Linda Garrick

Ch 7

"This place is awful," Lyla Watson said, not for the first time. Alan had to agree with her, but he didn't say so. It was obvious that Mark, Stewart and Shelly weren't affected by the sensations that he and Lyla were picking up, but that was because they lacked the psychometric talent that he and Lyla had in abundance. Unfortunately, very little was known about psychometry, as very few Terran psychics were psychometrists, so dealing with it was pretty much a self-taught thing. The fact that Alan had the talent, Leroy Burke had told him, was probably the reason that he was such an outstanding psychic tracer. That might be true, but there was a lot more to it than that. Alan shuddered slightly at the feeling of the place. It was as if tiny fingers were plucking at his mind, trying to attract his attention, and over all was a sensation of fear and foreboding that made chills crawl over his scalp. He had used the ability before, but not in any situation such as this one. He tried hard to ignore the ghostly sensations nibbling at his consciousness. It was a matter of control, he reminded himself. The feelings were not, in themselves, harmful. Even so, he was keeping a light layer of mind shielding in place to mute some of the psychometric sensations that he sensed around them, and he knew that Lyla was as well.

Linley glanced down at him, a slight frown on his features. "You're linked with me," he informed Alan, unnecessarily. "What's the matter?"

"Nothing," Alan said. "Psychometric vibes. I'm not detecting any immediate danger."

"Oh," Mark said. "I keep feelin' jumpy. Is that you?"

"Probably." Alan kept his voice steady.