A Wedding in Paris
Chapter Three

METROPOLIS: JARAWU BASIL’S SEAMSTRESS SHOP

“A long wedding veil le rouge (red)? At my age? Jarawu, I think not.” Abrihet said with a stubborn shake of her head.

A curvy woman in her late sixties moved around Abrihet with an elegance of character and strength that made a mockery of her age and size. Jarawu Basil said, “So, a perfect complement to your long hair, will it be worn in braids or out?”

“Braids tout petit, (tiny) straight down my back.”

“Then the veil need not cover the face, an effortless long red veil shall cascade down your back and stop below the knee. I should also weigh how much beading will be in the headdress. The very thing to balance the off-the-shoulder jacket, the golden thread embroidery will be on the cuffs and the edgings. The long skirt will have a simple train and similar needlework on the hem.”

Abrihet shuddered. “Off the shoulder? Veil le rouge? No. No. I cannot be wed in that! I am a scientist, in my mid-forties! Such a garment is for a young woman fresh out of university.”

A warm hand patted Abrihet on her shoulder, “As your couturière (seamstress) trust what can be accomplished! Such radiant skin color and muscle tone are beautiful and should be celebrated! But as you wish, the veil shall be white. Bernard Klein will forget you are a scientist and will only have eyes – and lips - for the woman.”

Mischief glimmered in her dark eyes. “Now … there are beads which need to be chosen for the necklace. I shall be right back.” With that, Jarawu bustled out of the fitting room.

Lois chuckled and thought; a woman can be many things at this dawn of the 21st century, but when it came to picking out a wedding gown, she was putty in the hands of her seamstress.