Hello, this is my first time posting in this mb. I like soap operas because they give us a delightful, ridiculous diversion from RL, so I thought...why not huh ?

Recognizable characters are not mine, not even Gwendolyn. Everyone else is. I'm just having fun for a while.

As the Planet Turns
by windfall
rated Pg
rebegun June 2003

What would L&C have been like if it was a soap opera, with twists and turns, secrets and deceit, unrequited love and hate, amnesia, etc. etc.? Oh, wait a minute… wink

Clark knocked on the door of Lois' apartment, then waited for the usual sounds of various locks being turned. Nothing happened. He knocked again, then gently called out.

“Lois? It's me, Clark.” He waited again, but again, there were no sounds from other side. He was just about to lower his glasses to peek inside, when he finally heard the sound of feet shuffling on the floor. A few seconds later, he heard the familiar "click, click' of locks being undone. He smiled when she opened the door, but his smile instantly faded when he saw the look on her face.

“Lois, what's wrong?” he exclaimed. Her whole face was distorted from sobbing, there were tears still streaming down her cheeks, and her eyes were red and puffy.

“Clark! It's…I…oh Clark!” she began sobbing again, and he immediately pulled her into his arms, holding her securely against his chest. He led her to the couch and sat her down, still holding her tightly. After a moment, she lifted her head from where she'd been sobbing against his neck. “It's so sad! I never expected it to happen! I never…even…saw…it…coming!” she cried, beginning to lose control.

Clark simply held her, stroking her back and murmuring in her ear. It was tearing his heart out to see her so upset, and to not even know what had upset her made it even worse! What had she not seen coming? Was something wrong with her? Was she sick? The very thought squeezed his already aching heart.