Next Thread
Print Thread
L
Pulitzer
OP Offline
Pulitzer
L
Hi all,

If you know about American football, I could really use your help with an original fiction short story I am writing which is based on a visual prompt of an American football referee. I dislike organized sports in general, and violent ones in particular, so I am dipping my toes into an area in which I know very little.

Would the referee refer to his/her upper garment as a jersey, or just as a shirt? Search engine results are inconclusive. I think "shirt" would be a safer bet, but if "jersey" is appropriate, its use would make it seem more as if I actually knew what I was talking about.

Thanks in advance for any help.

- Lynn

S
Columnist
Columnist
S
I'm not an expert by any means but my opinion is "jersey" since it's part of a uniform. On the other hand, I cheated and looked up several sporting good suppliers and, while both terms are used, "shirt" seems to be in the majority.

Shallowford
L
Pulitzer
OP Offline
Pulitzer
L
Hi Shallowford,

Thank you. Your research is in accord with mine. I am guessing I probably could go with either term. I just wanted to make sure that if I used "jersey" it wouldn't reveal how little I know about American football. I hadn't been sure whether only players' tops were referred to by that term.

I am still indecisive, but I have another week or so before I post the story, so I still have time to choose.

Thanks again,
Lynn

T
Pulitzer
Pulitzer
T
Here's a twist for you. This site gives a breakdown of the officials and their specific play-by-play responsibilities. It turns out that, despite the common usage of "referee" applying to all seven officials, "referee" is a specific position. The other six are line judge, back judge, side judge, field judge, down judge, and umpire.

Aren't sports terms fun?

A companion site listing the history of NFL officials' uniforms calls it a "shirt" and not a "jersey."