Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
groobie Offline OP
Kerth
OP Offline
Kerth
The Ghost of Christmas Future

Okay, so here's the backstory: A year ago, when I was writing Harmonicity, I put in a cute little scene where Clark used his laser vision to carve CK+LL with a heart surrounding it into the bark of a tree. Sue said:
one hundred years from now, that tree will be in the Superman Museum. I can just see young Tempus walking past it and rolling his eyes.

Well, I just had to steal that idea (with her gracious permission, of course). My goal was to write the story for the next Christmas, which has now arrived. laugh I have never written comedy before, but Tempus is a cynic after my own heart, and I hoped that I'd be able to do him justice. Please, let me know if I succeeded. smile

You can find my stories as Groobie on the nfic archives and Susan Young on the gfic archives. In other words, you know me as Groobie. wink
S
Merriwether
Merriwether
S
That was fun! You did a great job with comedy. There were lots of clever parts.

This cracked me up:

“Hmm. It’s strange,” TJ said, recalling the various images he had seen of the woman. “She looks like most of the pictures I’ve seen of her. But there are a few scattered ones where she looks much older, almost as if she was a completely different person.”

This had me laughing too:

“1996,” Tempus said. “Oh, how a year has changed things for our romantic leads. No more frog-eating clones, previously dead fiancées, unscrupulous doctors taking advantage of amnesiacs, and the New Kryptonians have been sent packing. Wedded bliss abounds.”

And this was funny too:

“You’ve got a lot to learn about being a bad guy. It’s not just about witty dialogue and knowing winks to the camera.”

TJ looked around the room, curious to see if he was being filmed.