Lois & Clark Fanfic Message Boards
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Greenie Offline OP
Blogger
OP Offline
Blogger
Does anyone here do their writing at coffee houses? I sure would love to but I'm a little unsure as to how long it is acceptable to sit there writing. So help a budding writer out and tell me: How long can a body sit at a coffee house writing?

Quinolones!!
Pulitzer
Pulitzer
Plant yer butt there and start writing! Really. I used to study for finals at the coffeehouse across the street from campus. I'd order one drink and nurse it for HOURS. And they didn't care. I was a paying customer!

JD

"Meg...who let you back in the house?" -Family Guy
T
Hack from Nowheresville
Hack from Nowheresville
T
I think J.K. Rowling wrote in a coffee house or cafe. And hey, it worked out for her. smile

Merriwether
Merriwether
I'm a bit shy of doing so, but hey sit your buttocks down and write some FAB stuff.

When I was a manager at McDonald's, I used to let the writers and students stay as long as they wanted. I liked having people around they kept nice company.

However, when the next manager came in sometimes they would give a hint to leave. What grumps. I can understand why, but they were always polite enough for me to make room or leave if we suddenly got a rush.

Some people were to shy to ask and some though, ooh I don't have to clean a table right away :p

Hmm, but from a customer point of view when the place is stuffed .... I think as long as you are ordering their services. I know I've gone in with the hopes of sitting and relaxing with a cup of coffee at two of the local coffee shops just outside of my apt on a Saturday morning. However I have not been able to do so b/c the same people stay there all morning. I'm going to beat that system someday. . . someday. It's my thing now, but I love to sleep in. goofy

If it quite - stay as long as you want.
If it is busy - judge it. I can't study/write when it is loud though.