Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#229396 12/28/06 10:57 AM
Matrix Offline OP
Pulitzer
OP Offline
Pulitzer
Hello all! I am new to making movies and vids, but from what I've seen since my venture into this fun arena of art, is that a lot of people have problems with Windows Movie Maker software.

It seems a lot of us (me included) have to contend with obstinate software that tries to lock up every few minutes (which can really be irritating if you've forgotten to backup/save your file before it locks up).

I just got a new laptop - a Dell. If I thought Movie Maker was tricky before... it's impossible now. I can't even do 2 things before it locks up. So I got on the internet and did some digging.

The 2 things I found that were recommended to try are these:

First Fix:
1. Open Movie Maker.
2. Click on Tools
3. Go to Options
4. When the options window opens, click on the "compatibility" tab.
5. There will be some "codecs" or "filters" listed in a list with boxes that you can check or uncheck. If you think these filters or codecs could be contributing to the problem, uncheck them. It won't affect any other programs on your computer.
6. Click OK

Second Fix:
1. Go to your desktop (wallpaper)
2. Right click on it and choose "properties"
3. When the properties window opens up, choose the "settings" tab.
4. In the settings tab, choose "advanced"
5. In the advanced tab, choose "troubleshoot"
6. In the troubleshoot tab, grab the slider (which is probably all the way to the right - on "Full") and slide it to the left until it's on the first notch (the first one to the right of "None"). The description will say: Disable all but basic accelerations. Use this setting to correct more severe problems.

Put your hardware acceleration on this low setting while using Windows Movie Maker. Then when you are done using it, you can go back in and put the acceleration back up to full.