Lois & Clark Fanfic Message Boards
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#164441 08/04/10 01:51 PM
Pulitzer
OP Offline
Pulitzer
I'm not well-versed in law and stuff, and I keep wondering: What would happen if a child of a wealthy family was kidnapped, and upon his recovery, it was discovered/alleged that this kid was actually *another* family's son, stolen some years ago as a baby, in a less-hyped (but still open) kidnapping case?

What would be the legal protocol here? What would be in the child's best interest? I know in some way it's reminiscent of "Kidnapped" by Yvonne, but instead of two similar families in different universes, we're talking about two unrelated US households.

What are your thoughts?

~•~
#164442 08/04/10 02:43 PM
L
Pulitzer
Pulitzer
L
I'm not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV. And my ideas have no basis whatsoever in actual knowledge of the law. But I would guess that a lot would depend on how old the child was at the time of each kidnapping, with whom (if anyone) the child had bonded, and the circumstances under which the wealthy family had acquired the child. (Had they been a party to the first kidnapping, or had they been duped into thinking that they were obtaining the child via legal means?) But again, that is pure speculation on my part.

Is there a lawyer in the house?

Joy,
Lynn

#164443 08/05/10 03:44 PM
Merriwether
Merriwether
Looking back on the kidnapping and child switching situations of the past, along with the parental custody abductions, the child would most likely go back to their biological parents.

"You need me. You wouldn't be much of a hero without a villain. And you do love being the hero, don't you. The cheering children, the swooning women, you love it so much, it's made you my most reliable accomplice." -- Lex Luthor to Superman, Question Authority, Justice League Unlimited
#164444 08/07/10 07:26 AM
Pulitzer
Pulitzer
I work with someone who used to work for CPS -- if I remember on Monday, I'll ask her smile

PJ