Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
T
Pulitzer
Pulitzer
T
And your picies correct the actual DNA... what if they were to do something like decide that brown eyes were 'correct' and anything else was 'not correct'...
Then everybody's favorite dating song would automatically be "Brown-Eyed Girl" by Van Morrison, right? The pixies (my spelling suggestion) have pretty good taste.

Life isn't a support system for writing. It's the other way around.

- Stephen King, from On Writing
L
Columnist
Columnist
L
I prefer "Behind Blue Eyes" myself so I'd be sad, =P

Sara "Lieta"
A
Features Writer
Features Writer
A
I thought I'd chime in here with something although it's been mentioned before - the impact on big pharma. Not that I'm an expert or anything, but I work for big pharma and my job is largely to speculate on the future, so I feel like I have more than your average understanding of what might happen.

The big effect I see is what Dandello mentioned - clinical trial enrollment. Honestly the forecasting we do is based on current sufferers, so it would take years to see it from that, but with clinical trials, your much more specific about who you'll talk to and so it would be apparent almost immediately. You've probably seen the articles on how many years it takes drugs to get to market - clinical trials on people tend to start 10-15 years prior to expected launch (years before that testing in the lab and then on animals). When enrollment is slow, we know immediately as of course, our estimate of launch is based on assuming we finish the trial at a specific time.

So, what I see happening is that for example all the drugs in my area are having enrollment problems. We're not sure what they are, though. But the same thing is happening to someone else and someone else, etc. Basically, it doesn't take too long to realize that all of our drugs are having enrollment problems.